Critical Thinking Skills


In Texas, the Critical Thinking (CT) Skills objective is defined as including:

creative thinking, innovation, inquiry, and analysis, evaluation and synthesis of information

The assessment of Critical Thinking Skills is required in ALL foundational component areas:

  • Communications
  • Mathematics
  • Life and Physical Sciences
  • Language, Philosophy and Culture
  • Creative Arts
  • American History
  • Government/Political Science Social and Behavioral Sciences
  • Social and Behavioral Sciences
  • Component Area Option

Examples From Across Texas

Faculty Fellow Dr Jennifer Edwards talks about easy ways to incorporate Critical Thinking into College Classrooms.

Additional Resources

In April 2017, Leap Texas hosted a week-long event dedicated to critical thinking and the sharing of experiences and resources:

VALUE Rubrics

AACU’s VALUE Rubrics provide a good starting point for beginning to think about the design and assessment of Critical Thinking Skills. ACCU have organised a number of rubrics underneath the general heading of Intellectual and Practical Skills (see the list below) and institutions across Texas are using one or more of these rubrics to support their work with this core objective.

Find out more about VALUE Rubrics.